Flooding Susie’s Inbox

October 14, 2009

The Post of Many Talents

Filed under: Entertaining, Houses — sashyjane @ 10:06 am

Yesterday, Rachel cooked a delicious crab scampi with green beans for supper and invited me to join her.  It was flavorful, quick, easy and hit the spot!

As we ate at the dining room table, I couldn’t help but lament my lack of enthusiasm about changing the house up a bit for Fall.  Last year I took great pride in changing out table linens and centerpieces to suit the season but I just hadn’t been motivated this year. As soon as we polished off a delicious slice of pumpkin loaf, I dug through the storage closet under the stairs and got to work.

Fortunately for me, Rachel had her fabulous camera handy and snapped pictures of the progress with the blog in mind.  Before I got started, this is roughly what the dining room looked like. (Note, Rachel did not take this picture)

114_0999

A couple of pinecones, some ribbon and a few placemats later, the dining room is all ready for Fall! (The following pictures are Rachel’s)

IMG_5825

IMG_5835I’m itching to paint in there and put down an area rug under the table.

I am going to pretend that I have thousands of devoted followers who cling to my every word for a minute and tell you where everything came from. :) Indulge me.

If you’ve been reading for a while, you may recall that I painted my table this rich cream color a while back and those bronze/gold chairs are from a rummage sale at the church where I work.

First, those sumptuous placemats are from Williams-Sonoma.  Normally, I would never buy myself anything from W-S (even though I’d love to have the entire store) but these were an excellent price and were too beautiful to pass up. Look at that gorgeous embrodiery!IMG_5843

I mean really look at it! IMG_5801

The napkin rings are from Target.  They are wire but are made to look like twigs. The napkins are some Mama didn’t want.  They don’t exactly match and I’d love to have the ones that match the placemats but they’ll do for now.

The little birdie salt and pepper shakers are from Target.

IMG_5843

The pinecones were some I picked up a few years ago at Target after Christmas.  They’re actually ornaments and they’ve been sprayed with a little gold sparkle.  They make great fillers on the tree and I think they look lovely displayed for Fall as well.

The bowl is one Mama gave me (I think it’s from Marshall’s) and the grosgrain ribbon is just some I had lying around.  I need to redo the bow and trim it up though.

IMG_5887

The buffet is actually the dresser that matches my bedroom furniture.  I didn’t really have the space or need the storage in my bedroom so I repurposed it as a buffet/linen storage in the dining room.

The lamps are a matching pair from the Salvation Army! The day I went in, they had all lamps buy one, get one 1/2 price! I put a couple of Target shades on them and viola! They look cool, antiquey and way pricier than they really are.

The mirror is from my great-grandmother’s vanity, the mustard yellow runner is from Target and is one of my favorite pieces because it goes with everything in my house, all year round! The junky looking candle/pinecone thing is from Target.  It was also on clearance after Christmas a few years ago.  It’s gotten a little beaten up in storage and looks a little worse for wear but it sort of captures the feeling of the season.

IMG_5872

That beautiful print of the snow covered tree is a Jim Gensheer I won at our women’s retreat a few weekends ago. I absolutely love it! The year prior, I won a print of a gorgeous maple leaf by Jim but it’s hanging in Mama’s house.

IMG_5889

Total cost of making my house a little more autumnal- $0!

Next up, the living room…

IMG_5937

Many thanks to Rachel for her willingness to photograph our house for my blog!

3 Comments »

  1. Awwww….I love the whole thing! Love the two different kind of chairs, birdie salt and pepper shakers, pine cones…great job!!

    Comment by Danielle — October 14, 2009 @ 6:32 pm

  2. My my how lovely! Now you just need a pumpkin spice wall flower air freshener to top it off!

    Comment by Susie — October 15, 2009 @ 2:44 pm

  3. […] shots to come.  My intention was to paint the chairs cream to match my dining room table and chairs but after 3 cans, one chair still wasn’t adequately covered. Would it look bad to paint them […]

    Pingback by Potpourri « Flooding Susie’s Inbox — August 30, 2010 @ 12:19 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.