Flooding Susie’s Inbox

May 7, 2010

All Grown Up

Filed under: VeryVera — sashyjane @ 12:49 pm

Susie graduates tomorrow! After 5 years of working (and playing) hard, she’ll walk away with her Bachelor’s in Fine Art with an emphasis in Graphic Design!

Here’s an article I wrote about her for VeryVera this quarter:

I just love this time of year; especially in Augusta! The Dogwoods, Azaleas and Japanese Magnolias are all blooming and the whole city is reveling in the hustle and bustle of the Master’s tournament. It’s fun to sort of band together as a city to welcome people from all over the world.

Spring is especially exciting this year because my little sister, Susie, is graduating from college! This May will greet her with a BFA in Graphic Design from Georgia Southern University. I was just sharing with her how exciting it is as an older sister to see all the opportunities laid out before her. She could literally go anywhere in the world! That freedom is exciting for me but a bit daunting for her.

Almost everybody uses graphic designers. This webpage you’re viewing was created by a very talented team of designers. Each package you purchase at the grocery store was designed by graphic designers, each billboard you see, each logo you run across, they were all created by talented and artistic people.

Susie’s talent is undeniable (there’s no way I’m biased.) She took home three ADDY awards this semester, one for each piece she entered. I have no doubt that she’ll be snapped up by fun graphic design firm in no time. Her portfolio speaks for itself but once a potential employer gets a glimpse of her hilarious sense of humor and great style, I’m sure the job offers will come pouring in (like I said above, there’s no way I’m biased.) Check out some of her graphic design as well as some of her fine art here.

Susie and I have always had a very close relationship. Of course we fought as kids and teenagers and we still have the occassional squabble but I wholeheartedly consider her my best friend and to say I’m proud of her is a huge understatement. Congratulations, Cubby!!

Congratulations, Susie! Now, get to work designing a blog header for me. :)

2 Comments »

  1. Let’s talk turkey–how much are you willing to pay me for a blog header? Now that I’m a degree holder, I cost you know! haha jk..for you, I cut a deal. We’ll discuss specifics for your blog header soon.

    Comment by susiemaeday — May 11, 2010 @ 12:22 pm

    • Well, considering that I’ve asked you about 3,000 times for one (before you were a degree holder) I should be grandfathered in and allowed one free of charge. I’ll even let you put it on your resume as an internship. :)

      Comment by sashyjane — May 11, 2010 @ 12:48 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

