Flooding Susie’s Inbox

February 16, 2010

Nashville

Filed under: Friends, Travel — sashyjane @ 12:26 pm

My friend Sarah and I got away for the holiday weekend.  We took a quick trip up to Nashville and back.  We’d planned to drive up Friday afternoon, go out, enjoy Saturday and Sunday then drive back Monday at a leisurely pace.  Instead, it took us TEN HOURS to get from Augusta to Nashville on Friday because of the snow and traffic in Atlanta.  Once we got there, we decided to cut our trip a day short and head back on Sunday because of the snow scheduled to hit Nashville. While a bit disappointing, we still enjoyed our time.

I could absolutely live in the record stores downtown.  I also became quickly infatuated with this place.

Hatch Show Print Sign

If you love design, typefaces and just all around cool printing stuff, you must visit this place.  I could have stayed in there all weekend and spent some serious $$.

Hatch Show Print Gig PostersHatch Show Print Inside

We wandered through the Opryland hotel a bit and then caught some live music.

Opryland Hotel

Rippy's BBQ

Layla's Nashville

I had to stop by Dolly’s souvenir store.  How does this woman stand up and how do her organs function?!

Dolly Parton Dress 1

Dolly Parton White Dress

Dolly Parton Silver Dress

On Sunday, we stopped in Franklin, TN and ate brunch at Puckett’s. Delish and adorable.  I’m ready to pack my bags and move to Franklin!

Puckett's Grocery

I left my SD card in my laptop so I didn’t have it with me when we were strolling through Franklin. The above and below are “borrowed” from the internet. Hopefully I’ll get the pictures from Sarah soon.  Adorable shops, incredibly nice people and gorgeous houses. I could honestly move there tomorrow.  I love their seasonal banners on the lamp posts.

Autumn Downtown Franklin TN

Summer Downtown Franklin TN

After walking around a bit more, we headed back to Georgia where the snow had melted and turned everything to mush.  It was nice to get away for a bit and I have a new favorite go-to city when I need an escape. What did you do this weekend?

1 Comment »

  1. I spy a fat cat on the printing press! Looks like a good time. I’m sorry your trip was cut short–but I guess that gives you even more reason to visit again soon!

    Comment by susiemaeday — February 17, 2010 @ 4:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

