Flooding Susie’s Inbox

November 25, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving!

Filed under: Family, Food — sashyjane @ 12:13 pm

Although the most delicious day of the year isn’t until tomorrow, I know I won’t sit in front of a computer to blog about it on Thursday and I certainly don’t know how to schedule a post to appear. Thus, you’re getting your Thanksgiving post today.

I absolutely love this week! My favorite cousins come to town, Susie comes home from school for longer than 24 hours and delicious food abounds.  Tomorrow afternoon, our large extended family will converge on cousins Ross and Judy’s house for Thanksgiving supper (we eat at about 6.) While I’m still relegated to the kids’ table – I’m pretty sure you need a post graduate degree, spouse and at least 2 children to be seated at the adult table – I enjoy taking a dish or two along in an attempt to prove my adulthood.

Last year, I made a super delicious and super easy cranberry cheeseball that I plan to bring again this year.  In addition, Susie and I want to try out the Paula Deen Gingerbread Pumpkin Trifle at Erika’s suggestion.

Cranberry Cheeseball

2 8oz pkgs cream cheese, softened

1/2 c. dried cranberries (can use more if you like)

1 T.  orange zest

1 t.  Garlic salt

1 c. chopped nuts (walnuts are my favorite)

Mix first four ingredients up together in a bowl until cranberries are well-distributed. Form mixture into a ball and roll in chopped nuts. Refrigerate until about 30 minutes before serving. Plate on a cake pedestal and surround with crackers (I like to use the garlic and herb flavored Townhouse Toppers.) Enjoy!  This super easy recipe is no sweat and people love the combination of salty, sweet and savory.  It’s also very handy to have something for guests to gnosh on while the turkey is being prepped for it’s debut.

What are your favorite Thanksgiving traditions? Do you go out to eat like Blue Hydrangea? Does your family take a trip somewhere like Blueprint Bliss? Or do you have an intimate dinner with family and friends at home like Eddie and Jaithan? Whatever you’re doing on this day of thankfulness, I want you to know that I’m thankful for each one of you! I’m thankful for your readership, your comments and your helpful suggestions.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

1 Comment »

  1. this was tre delish! the cheesball and the trifle.

    Comment by Susie — December 12, 2009 @ 12:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

