Flooding Susie’s Inbox

October 7, 2009

Traveler’s Blues

Filed under: Travel — sashyjane @ 5:27 pm

I absolutely love traveling!! The only problem is that I rarely get to do it. And when I do travel, it’s usually with the family so I can afford it.

However, if I had nothing to worry about, no work deadlines, no money woes and a fun traveling partner, I’d take off today.

The first place I’d go is Nashville (luckily I’ll be going there for my friend Sarah’s birthday in November!) nashville-skyline-1

I’d visit the honky tonks, eat at hole in the wall restaurants, visit the Ryman and rub elbows with the stars.  I went to Nashville once, four years ago, and fell in love! I can’t wait to go back.

I’d stay here (remember, there are no $$ limits) and go to as many live shows as I possibly could.

gaylord room

Then I’d head up to Kentucky.  My friend Annie is getting married there this weekend and it KILLS me that I can’t be there.  Kentucky would be so gorgeous this time of year.  I’d hit up the Woodford Reserve Distillery, take in the gorgeous fall leaves and go to a horse race or two.

woodford_reserve_distillery

lexington-kentucky-horse-farms

horsies

I’d probably stay here.

gratz park

bedroom

suite

library

After a fabulous week or two in Lexington, I’d head north to Chicago and Boston (Darby and Erika have both been there so I’ll let them show you the highlights) I’d stay here in Chicago and here in Boston.  From there, I’d stop in New York for a week of shopping, people watching, elbow rubbing and Broadway show enjoying.

foliage-header

I would stay here (in the penthouse, obvi)

soho grand

I would see this show

50229481_jpg_550x550_q85

And I would buy myself a little something here, here and here.

After making my way up the eastern seaboard, I’d probably be in the mood for a little overseas adventure. First, I’d stop in Wales and England.  I’d stay here.

D2_GARAM 1XBRO

I’d of course take in all the lovely sights and sounds that the English countryside and the city of London had to offer.  This will probably take about 2 weeks.

Then I’d head on over to Ireland and Scotland where I’d invite some of my American friends to join me for a while.  We’d need a large place to accomodate us all.  This will do nicely.

easterheughs_castle_456

After I’d gotten my fill of the sheep and gorgeous landscape, I’d pop through Luxembourg, Austria, Belgium, The Netherlands, Germany, France, Switzerland,  Sweden and Norway and then stop for an extended stay in Slovakia.

After Lenka and her family tired of me, I’d visit Italy for a few weeks and pass through Venice, Rome, Pompeii and Milan while driving this car.

vintage_car

In Venice, I’d probably stay here.

venice

venice 2

venice 3

Rome, I’d make my home here.

rome

rome 2

rome 3

Pompeii would find me visiting the famous volcanic ruins and staying here.

a101_pompeii2

1_z

pompeii2

pompeii3*Why is there a creepy fencer standing there?

pompeii

pompeii 4

Milan would have me spending tons of money on ridiculous clothes like these:

and staying here.

milan 1

milan2

milan 3

I’d then pass through the Tuscan vineyards and make my way to Greece.

Tuscan_vineyards_at-sunset

Part Two of my fantasy travels tomorrow…

2 Comments »

  1. This would be a dream come true! Also, these places are all gorgeous, let’s start saving now and perhaps this dream will become a reality. Meanwhile, the guys from Westside Story certainly did get some serious air!

    Comment by Susie — October 8, 2009 @ 11:44 pm

  2. […] to there Filed under: Houses, Travel — sashyjane @ 3:20 pm I’ve mentioned before here and here how much I want to visit Scotland and stay in one of the gorgeous houses up for rent […]

    Pingback by I want to go to there « Flooding Susie’s Inbox — February 25, 2010 @ 3:20 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

