Flooding Susie’s Inbox

September 19, 2009

Veľký smútok

Filed under: Friends — sashyjane @ 12:43 am

It was with mixed emotions that I drove my dear sweet friend Lenka to the Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport in Atlanta yesterday morning.  Her grandfather in Slovakia died early Wednesday morning and through the provision of the Lord and generosity of Lenka’s brothers and sisters in Christ that she got a last minute chance to fly home for the funeral.

Family is extremely important to Lenka and she was very excited to be going home for the first time in over a year but at the same time deeply saddened that she was returning for her beloved grandfather’s funeral.

n39801424_32654323_691

After a few late flights, she made it to Slovakia this morning with just an hour to spare before the funeral.  She sent a message to the States about her first few hours home.

I caught up with my emotions as soon as I entered the funeral home. My aunt  was standing by the casket which by the way was opened at the point just crying her eyes out. Just to fill you in, she my dad’s sister and therefore a daughter of grandfather who died. The momentshe saw me, she ran to me and gave me the biggest hug I guess out of being surprised that i made it and also, just out of pain and brokeness.

After that, many more people came to say their goodbyes and to express their condolences. That was pretty hard. Just seeing my grandpa just laying there breatless; something I can’t describe really.
Many people were totally surprised by me being there and many couldn’t even recognize me.

My dear friends, to sum it all up, it was pretty amazing feeling!! I then went to the church where the actuall mass was performed and that’s when I saw my grandmother for the first time. Immediately she started crying. I couldn’t help but go all around all the other people a to hug her while everybody was watching, but I didn’t care! Oh I love her so much and she looked so much in pain and just alone. One other feeling I can’t describe. She just looked so hurt, but in a way relieved knowing that he wasn’t in a place where he was hurting the way we (people in slovakia) perceive pain.

The service was actually very surprising to me. I feel like I have so many stories to share, but I’m just too tired to share right now (getting on my 25th hour with no sleep, but I’m full of emotions and just thankfulness; overwhelmed by God’ love for me.

It truly was an unbelievable funeral! One that I’m so grateful to be a part of. It was my grandfather and I got to say good-bye (in a very special way)!

Afterwards, we had a “party” for other people to join us and celebrate my grandpa’s life. That was pretty neat. After the family cleaned up, we all went to my grandpa’s house and hung out with my grandma. She seemed so sad still, but just so happy to have everybody there. We just laughed about stories…just fun stuff with or without my grandpa. There was a pic of him that we had put up and that was the face that I’ll just always remember…that little sneaky, smiley,in a way boyish face I’ll keep in my mind forever.

She’ll be in Slovakia until Wednesday.  If you think about it, please pray for her time at home to be filled with great conversations about Christ and His promises. Please also pray for her safe return.

Thank you, friends!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

