Flooding Susie’s Inbox

August 7, 2009

Success and Great Friends

Filed under: Food, Friends — sashyjane @ 1:38 pm

The Sweet Bacon Pork Tenderloin was beyond delicious! Lenka thought it was so good that I would put her to shame and her husband wouldn’t want to eat her food anymore.  Haha I doubt that.  My rice-making skills are nothing compared to hers.

Sweet Bacon Pork Tenderloin

2 lb. pork tenderloin

1 lb. bacon

2/3 c. brown sugar

olive oil

salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 350 and grease a large cast iron skillet.  Salt and pepper the tenderloin and wrap continuously with bacon so the entire thing is covered. Sprinkle with brown sugar and pat into the bacon.  Place in the skillet and bake for 35-40 minutes.  The cast iron skillet is crucial to crisp the bacon but I don’t have a large enough cast iron skillet so I just seared my tenderloin with the bacon on it before putting it in the oven on a roasting pan.  It worked beautifully.  They suggest serving with horseradish sauce but I didn’t have any so I just served it without anything.

I remembered that Lenka doesn’t like tomatoes so I couldn’t serve the tomato pie so I made rice, field peas and bread.  All starch. Haha Oopsie.

They loved the lemon blueberry trifle and went home with full bellies.  Again, I took no pictures of this fun dinner with my good friends but here are some cute pictures for demonstration purposes. :)

n39801424_33003925_1139

n39801424_33210884_4248

n39801424_32383752_6939

n39801424_32336472_146

n39801424_31693302_9757

n39801424_31816180_7115

I’ve known Scott and Lenka separately but not very well since my sophomore year of college.  I didn’t see Scott much after that but Lenka and I became very close friends and our friendship has continued to deepen over the years.  After college, she and Scott met and married (they’ll be celebrating 2 years in September!) and I treasure every minute I spend with them.

Scott is hilarious and makes sure I keep my car in good shape and Lenka is hilarious and has the most giving heart I’ve ever seen.  They make the most wonderful blend of cultures too; Lenka is from Slovakia and Scott’s parents are from Laos.  I wonder if that combination has ever happened before? Lenka learned very quickly had to make sticky rice and Asian food and Scott overcame his aversion to flying to meet her family in Slovakia last summer.

I’m proud to call these two my friends!

1 Comment »

  1. Sara Jane, you are wonderful!!! We loved the dinner and enjoyed your hospitality. Love you, friend! PS. Your apartment looks beautiful and I think I’ll be jealous of “that piece of furniture-not sure what it’s called it” until I get my own;-))

    Comment by Lenka — August 7, 2009 @ 5:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

