Flooding Susie’s Inbox

August 6, 2009

Quickie

Filed under: Books, Food — sashyjane @ 2:31 pm

Susie beat me to the punch with pictures of our Tybee trip and I am having a hard time getting motivated to blog about fabulous things happening (there are quite a few) all around me but I did want to share a few quick recipes.

Last night, my all-girls Bible study had our end of the summer supper.  I was asked to bring a side and I turned to the cookbook Susie gave me for my birthday. my mama made that

My Mama Made That is an adorable cookbook filled with tips and tricks and sayings from the mamas of the Hampton Roads, VA Junior League.

I decided to make their recipe for tomato pie.  I’ve seen a number of tomato pies in my day but this one was a little different as it had bacon and a second crust- aka completely canceling out the last shred of nutritional value the tomatoes held. It was absolutely heavenly and gorgeous! I didn’t take a picture because it was too yummy and we gobbled it up as soon as that golden crusted treasure was pulled out of the oven. (Can you tell I’m proud of it?) So here’s a stolen picture for demonstration purposes.

tomatopiesliceTaken from here.

Tomato Pie

2 rolled, refrigerated pie crusts (I always use Kroger brand and they always turn out heavenly)

4 very ripe tomatoes

1/2 medium onion

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

3/4 cup shredded Monterrey jack cheese

3 slices bacon crumbled

3 TBSP mayonnaise

1 tsp dried basil divided

salt/pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 425. Slice each tomato and place in a colander over a large bowl or the sink, sprinkle with salt and pepper. Allow tomatoes to drain while preparing the other ingredients. (I don’t have a colander that big so I spread out the tomato slices on paper towels on cookie sheets and let them drain.)  Slice the onion very thinly. In a bowl combine the cheese, bacon, and 3TBSP mayo. Mix thoroughly.Carefully lay the bottom pie crust in a 9″ pie plate. Arrange a layer of tomatoes, sprinkle with half the sliced onion and 1/2 tsp dried basil. Cover with about half of the cheese mixture and repeat layers. Top with cheese mixture. Add the second crust, seal the edges, and cut air vents in the top. Bake for 45 minutes, checking after 30. Cover with foil to prevent the crust from browning too darkly.

Remove from oven and eat until you break the chair legs. One girl told me she doesn’t even like tomatoes but she loved this pie. She then followed that comment by saying it tasted like something she’d have at Olive Garden… I’m not sure if that was an insult or a compliment. Haha

I also brought a simple but oh so yummy trifle recipe from the same cookbook. It was so light and yummy and was the perfect compliment to our decadent supper. Again, no pictures, I’m not really a picture taking kind of girl (unless an adorable dog is the subject). Sorry.

blueberry7_39114sImage from here.

Lemon Blueberry Trifle

1 4oz. package of instant lemon pudding

1 tub of cool whip

4 c. fresh blueberries

1/2 angel food cake or pound cake (I used a lemon pudding cake from the Kroger bakery)

Prepare the pudding according to package directions.  Once the pudding has set, mix with the cool whip and refrigerate.  Cut the cake into cubes and layer half of the cubes at the bottom of a trifle bowl.  Top with half of the pudding mixture and half of the blueberries. Repeat layers (the pudding and blueberries should be on top.) Serve and eat until you have to be hauled out to your car in a wheelbarrow.

So far, I’m mega impressed with My Mama Made That.  Tonight, I’m having my married friends Scott and Lenka over and I’m shamelessly serving them the leftover tomato pie, field peas, a MMMT recipe for Sweet Bacon Pork Tenderloin and the leftover trifle.  I’ll let you know how the tenderloin turns out but if history has taught me anything it’s that you cannot go wrong when you wrap something in bacon.

Pics_Food_Bacon_Wrapped_PorkTenderloinGoogle image of that deliciocity ganked from here.

2 Comments »

  1. I want a slice of that mater pie! Holy cow that looks good.

    Comment by Nance — August 17, 2009 @ 6:17 pm

  2. haha Nance is quite country for a Minnesota housewife!

    Comment by Susie Mae — August 20, 2009 @ 12:15 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

