Flooding Susie’s Inbox

May 4, 2009

I’m so excited!!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , — sashyjane @ 2:19 pm

Remember this stuff? Well, these chairs and my china cabinet are just about all I can think about! I woke up early Saturday morning and ran to Lowe’s to get paint for my gold chairs.  Here’s the first chair mid paint: chairI love the way they turned out!!! I’ll have to post a real picture later (this one was with my phone.)

I got my china cabinet home (thanks to Daddy and Mr. Bailey) and filled it with goodies.  Another low-quality photo:

china-cabinetPlease ignore the boxes of stuff in the background.

While at Lowe’s, I picked up some new knobs and drawer pulls for the cabinet to freshen it up a bit.  drawer-pull

So much nicer to look at than the originals!

knob

The knob on the left is the original.  I wasn’t sure that the new ones would fit since they’re considerably larger than the new ones but I think they work well with the tone of the wood and the rest of the room.

I started painting my dining room table too.  Don’t gasp in horror! It’s an old breakfast room table Mama and Daddy bought years ago and it’s seen better days.  With the chairs painted the fresh cream color, the table looked so drab and sad so I started painting it the same color.  I’ll post pictures once I finish.  Rainy days have prevented me from completing the project.

While at Lowe’s, I stopped by the garden center to get some plants and flowers to freshen up my entryway.  Since the little alcove our front door is hidden in doesn’t get much light, I picked up a hosta and some impatiens.  Grandmama says she’s never seen a potted hosta before so she doesn’t know how it’ll do but I’m just going to pretend that potted hostas thrive and do well.

I have a decent digital camera so I’m not sure why all of my pictures are on my phone.  I’ll make a conscious effort to take my “after” shots with the real camera so you can see the transformation of my dining room.  Next project on the to-do list: find an inexpensive but pretty rug for the dining room and finish Mama’s Mother’s Day present.

If you’re interested, the drawer pulls and knobs are from the GateHouse Collection at Lowe’s and the paint is Valspar High Gloss Enamel in Waverly Home Soft Cream.  I was also extremely drawn to Martha Stewart’s Buttermilk Biscuit but the soft cream was a touch lighter.

1 Comment »

  1. That paint color sounds delicious! Love the way the china cabinet looks now filled with goodies! Once exams are over, I will be updating mine too.

    Comment by Susie Mae — May 6, 2009 @ 2:21 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

